Friday, 26 August 2016

The UEFA Champions League Draw 2016/2017

The draws for Europe most prestigious club competition the UEFA Champions League was drawn yesterday in Monaco with team finding out who their opponent will be as they prepare to battle it out of the group phase.
This year's competition promises to be a very competitive one as teams now realize how much profit the competition present to their respective clubs financially. As the competition have been a contributing factor to the ever presence of  teams like Real Madrid, Barcelona, Manchester United and Arsenal on the list of Europe's richest clubs.

The draw as always was based on a pot by pot bases as teams were seeded according to the new UEFA rule which favoured teams like New comer's Leicester City who automatically found themselves in pot 1 by virtue of winning the English premier League.
Along side Leicester City in pot 1 were: Paris Saint German, Benfica, Barcelona, Bayern Munich, CSKA Moscow, Juventus, and Real Madrid which means none of them will come against each other in the first stage of the competition.

The second pot comprised of the following teams: Arsenal, Napoli, Manchester City, Atletico Madrid, Bayern Leverkusen, Dortmund, Fc Porto, Sevilla.

The Third pot: Basel, Dynamo Kiev, Monchengladbach,, PSV, Tottenham, Sporting club of Lisbon, Club Brugge and Lyon of France.

The fourth pot consisted mainly of teams who made it through the final qualifying round: Ludogorets of Bulgaria, Besiktas, Celtic, Rostov, Monaco, Legia, Kobenhavn, Dinamo Zagreb.

After a colourful draws, the final group paring of the 32 teams was made as follows:

Group A                                                                    GROUP B
Paris Saint German (France)                                      Benfica (portugal)
Arsenal     (England)                                                   Napoli (Italy)
Basel  (Switzerland)                                                    Dynamo Kiev (Ukarine)
Ludogorets (Bulgaria)                                                 Besiktas (Turkey)

GROUP C                                                                  GROUP D
Barcelona (Spain)                                                       Bayern Munich (Germany)
Manchester City ( England)                                        Atletico Madrid (Spain)
Monchengladbach (Germany)                                     PSV ( Holland)
Celtic (Scotland)                                                          Rostov (Russia)

GROUP E                                                                   GROUP F
CSKA Moscow (Russia)                                             Real Madrid (Spain)
Bayern Leverkusen (Germany)                                   Dortmund (Germany)
Tottenham (England)                                                   Sporting Club (Portugal)
Monaco (France)                                                          Legia (Poland)

GROUP G                                                                    GROUP H
Leicester City (England)                                              Juventus (Italy)
FC Porto (Portugal)                                                      sevilla (Spain)
Club Brugge (Belgium)                                                Olympic Lyon (France)
Kobenhavn (Denmark)                                                  Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia)

The 2016/2017 champions league group phase which kicks off on September 13 and 14 respectively promises to be an exciting one with mouth watering clashes such as PSG Vs Arsenal, Napoli Vs Benfica, Barcelona Vs Manchester City, Bayern Munich Vs Atletico Madrid, Cska Moscow Vs Bayern Leverkusen, Real Madrid Vs Dortmund, and Juventus Vs Lyon.
Notably absent from this year's Champion League include; Chelsea, Manchester United, As Roma,  Ac Milan and Ajax who will be battling to make it back to the elite competition come next season.

No comments:

Post a Comment